Main Page Forum Roster
    
EQUITAS Guild Forum
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
  Home    Help    Search    Login    Register  
*
News : September 07, 2010, 01:34:53 AM
+  EQUITAS Guild Forum
|-+  Public Boards
| |-+  General Discussion
| | |-+  Scam mail
Advanced search
  « previous next »
Pages 1
Author
Topic: Scam mail  (Read 248 times)
« on: January 09, 2010, 11:50:02 AM »
Mólok
Awesome!
Equitas Officer
Marshal
*****
Posts: 859



IF the asshats are to try and scam people, would it not be advisable to use proper English at least??

Got this one last night:

Quote
Greetings! dear players

Today, we are do all activities of the World of Warcraft accounts a routine check.
We have evidence to show that your account transactions involved in the disputed.
Please visit our web site as soon as possible to clarify http://www.worldofwarcraft.com otherwise we will lock your account.

Regards,
The World of Warcraft Support Team Blizzard Entertainment

The link to the wabpage was actually linking to www.worlofwarcarft-wow.com as well..
Report to moderator   Logged

Also Waynwood, Athalsteinn, Torgar and some small nobodies.
 
Reply #1
« on: January 09, 2010, 11:56:46 AM »
Mólok
Awesome!
Equitas Officer
Marshal
*****
Posts: 859



Seems I got more than one...

Quote
When we carry out a routine check when the account, we have evidence to show that your account has been involved in the disputed transactions.
So we have to inform you visit our website(http://www.worldofwarcraft.com) fill out some information to facilitate our investigation.
If you can not tie in with our soon we will have to temporarily lock your account.

Sincerely,
Blizzard, Inc.
Copyright @ 2009 Blizzard, Inc. All rights reserved.

wor1dofwararaft as adress in this one..
Report to moderator   Logged

Also Waynwood, Athalsteinn, Torgar and some small nobodies.
 
Reply #2
« on: January 10, 2010, 01:44:44 PM »
Rurios
Equitas Guild Member
Knight-Lieutenant
*****
Posts: 136



For those that are getting these and aren´t too sure if they are from blizz really or scam, you can check the "source" of the mail by rightlicking on it, and from the list of little pointless babble you can get the original senders mail or if it´s been sent as a chain, if this is not blizzards mailing address it´s a scam.

Got one of those "your account is under suspicion of breaking the user lices agreement thingie and we are forced to do -something- please contact us at xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx.xxxx  to vertify the user is still you"(in a nutshell) had fancy links to the licens thingie and so on,

Why I was panicing about that was cause it was during the time I was playing back and forth with Minika on this account. So basicly I "was" breaking the thingie.
Report to moderator   Logged

God of War
-Rurios-
 
Reply #3
« on: January 27, 2010, 09:31:00 AM »
Azular
Equitas Guild Member
Knight-Lieutenant
*****
Posts: 117



http://www.wow.com/2010/01/10/you-are-not-invited-to-the-cataclysm-alpha/

Take a look at the above link. Just making sure that everyone knows about it Smiley


TL;DR - If you get an invite to Cataclysm Alpha, don't accept it. Scam mail Wink
Report to moderator   Logged

"BONESTORM!
BONESTORM!
Whatcha gonna do?
Whatcha gonna do when I BONESTORM you!"

http://wow-heroes.com/index.php?zone=eu&server=Argent%20Dawn&name=Azular
 
Reply #4
« on: March 08, 2010, 06:31:28 PM »
Aeroka
Equitas Guild Member
Recruit
*****
Posts: 2



I get these all the freaking time to the email address that isn't even linked to my wow account hehe.
Report to moderator   Logged
 
Reply #5
« on: March 08, 2010, 09:29:41 PM »
Mólok
Awesome!
Equitas Officer
Marshal
*****
Posts: 859



I still get them concerning Aion even though I've not played that game since second month after it's release.. *smile*

"If you do not follow the link at the bottom of this e-mail your account might become terminated!" Oh, gee..
Report to moderator   Logged

Also Waynwood, Athalsteinn, Torgar and some small nobodies.
 
Print  Pages 1
« previous next »
Jump to: